2023 CAF WOMEN’S AWARDS: South Africans nominated in all categories 

South Africa has been nominated in all seven categories of the 2023 CAF Women’s Awards set for 11 December in, Marrakech, Morocco.

Leading the charge for South Africa is Banyana Banyana who have been named among 10 nations for the CAF National Team of the Year Accolade, alongside Burkina Faso, Burundi, Ghana, Malawi, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, Tanzania, and Zambia.

Banyana Banyana

The South Africans, who won the award in 2022, had a year to remember – they were crowned the African Champions after winning their maiden continental title at the 2022 CAF Women’s Africa Cup of Nations in Morocco, qualified for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup and went on to make history by not only registering their first win at the tournament, but also progressed to the Round of 16.

Joining them in Australia and New Zealand were Nigeria and debutants Morocco, who also made it to the second round, as well as Zambia who, however, could not get out of their group in their first attempt at the global women’s football showpiece.

Six South Africans feature among 30 nominees in the CAF Player of the Year award – Andile Dlamini, Hilda Magaia, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Linda Motlhalo, Refiloe Jane and Thembi Kgatlana.

With the exception of Dlamini – who runs out for Mamelodi Sundowns in South Africa, all the other players ply their trade abroad in South Korea, Mexico, Scotland, Italy, and the USA respectively.

Kgatlana won the accolade in 2018, becoming only the second South African after Spain-based Noko Matlou in 2008.

Desiree Ellis

In the CAF Women’s Coach of the Year category, Banyana Banyana mentor Ellis has been nominated for the fourth year in a row, and this time accompanied by Mamelodi Sundowns Head Coach Jerry Tshabalala – who is in Cote d’Ivoire in charge of the team in the 2023 CAF Women’s Champions League, as they prepare for the semi-finals.

Ellis is the current holder, winning it three times in succession.

Also on the list are Randy Waldrum (Nigeria), Reynald Pedros (Morocco), 

Lovemore Fasili (Malawi), Nana Joe Adarkwa (Ampem Darkoa – Ghana), Mehdi El Qauchouri (SC Casablanca – Morocco), Mohamed Amine Alioua (AS FAR – Morocco), M. Moussa Cisse (Senegal) and Ester Chamruma (JKT Queens – Tanzania).

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies

Reigning Hollywoodbets Super League champions, Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies, have again been nominated for the CAF Club of the Year award they won last year. Seven other teams are in the running, including CAF Women’s Champions League holders, AS FAR Rabat from Morocco – who could provide strong resistance – as well as Athlético de Abidjan (Cote d’Ivoire), Huracanes (Equatorial Guinea), Ampem Darkoa (Ghana), AS Mande (Mali), SC Casablanca (Morocco) and JKT Queens (Tanzania).

South Africa’s Kaylin Swart of JVW and Andile Dlamini of Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies – who both play in the Hollywoodbets Super League – will go head-to-head, along with eight other goal minders, in the CAF Goalkeeper of the Year category, introduced for the first time this year.

Mamelodi Sundown’s Lebohang Ramalepe is the only South African on the list of the CAF Interclub Player of the Year nominees, while Thubelihle Shamase of the University of Johannesburg will contest the CAF Young Player of the Year award.

“The awards will recognise the standout performers from club and country over the past year, with the highlight being the crowning of the CAF African Player of the Year in both the men’s and women’s category,” said CAF in an earlier statement.

Jermaine Seoposenwe


  • Player of the Year

Andile Dlamini

Hildah Magaia

Linda Motlhalo

Jermaine Seoposenwe

Thembi Kgatlana

Refiloe Jane

  • Interclub Player of the Year

Lebohang Ramalepe (Mamelodi Sundowns)

  • Young Player of the Year

Thubelihle Shamase (University of Johannesburg)

  • Coach of the Year

Desiree Ellis (Banyana Banyana)

Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies)

  • Goalkeeper of the Year

Kaylin Swart (JVW)

Andile Dlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies)

  • National Team of the Year

Banyana Banyana

  • Club of the Year

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies 

Linda Motlhalo


  • Player of the Year

Andile Dlamini (South Africa)

Hildah Magaia (South Africa)

Linda Motlhalo (South Africa)

Jermaine Seoposenwe (South Africa)

Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa)

Refiloe Jane (South Africa)

Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon)

Evelyn Badu (Ghana)

Tabitha Chamwinga (Malawi)

Temwa Chamwinnga (Malawi)

Anissa Lahmari (Morocco)

Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco)

Chizlane Chebbak (Morocco)

Ibtissam Jraidi (Morocco)

Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco)

Zenaitha Coleman (Namibia)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria)

Christy Uchebe (Nigeria)

Osinachi Ohale (Nigeria)

Rasheedat Ajibade (Nigeria)

Toni Payne (Nigeria)

Uchenna Kanu (Nigeria)

Ndeye Awa Diakhate (Senegal)

Afi Sabine Woedikou (Togo)

Sabrina Ellouzi (Tunisia)

Fazila Ikwaput (Uganda)

Barbara Banda (Zambia)

Grace Chanda (Zambia)

Racheal Kundananji (Zambia)

Banyana Banyana
  • National Team of the Year

South Africa

Burkina Faso









Lebohang Ramelepe
  • Interclub Player of the Year

Lebohang Ramalepe (Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies – South Africa)

Refilwe Tholakele (Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies – Botswana)

N’guessan Nadege Kofifi (Cote d’Ivoire)

Elena Oyana (Equatorial Guinea)

Comfort Yeboah (Ghana)

Tracy Twum (Ghana)

Oumou Kone (Mali)

Aziza Rabbah (Morocco)

Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco)

Chizlane Chebbak (Morocco)

Thubelihle Shamase
  • Young Player of the Year

Thubelihle Shamase (University of Johannesburg – South Africa)

Comfort Yeboah (Ghana)

Mary Amponsah (Ghana)

Nesryne El Chad (Morocco)

Deborah Abiodun (Nigeria)

Esther Ajakaye (Nigeria)

Oluwatosin Demehin (Nigeria)

Hapsatou Diallo (Senegal)

Winifred Gerald (Tanzania)

Fauzia Najjemba (Uganda)

Jerry Tshabalala
  • Coach of the Year

Desiree Ellis (Banyana Banyana – South Africa)

Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies – South Africa)

Lovemore Fasili (Malawi)

Nana Joe Adarkwa (Ampem Darkoa – Ghana)

Mehdi El Qauchouri (SC Casablanca – Morocco)

Mohamed Amine Alioua (AS FAR – Morocco)

M. Moussa Cisse (Senegal)

Ester Chamruma (JKT Queens – Tanzania)

Kaylin Swart
  • Goalkeeper of the Year

Kaylin Swart (JVW – South Africa)

Andile Dlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies – South Africa)

Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria)

Ange Bawou (Cameroon)

Dolores Masongo (Equatorial Guinea)

Imane Abdelahad (Morocco)

Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco)

Najijat Abass Idrisa (Tanzania)

Catherine Musonda (Zambia)

Cynthia Shongwe (Zimbabwe)

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies
  • Club of the Year

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (South Africa)

AS FAR Rabat (Morocco)

Athlético de Abidjan (Cote d’Ivoire)

Huracanes (Equatorial Guinea)

Ampem Darkoa (Ghana)

AS Mande (Mali)

SC Casablanca (Morocco)

JKT Queens (Tanzania)

By Matlhomola Morake

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.